Charles Hadfield

Charles HadfieldCharles Hadfield has published four poetry collections: Border Disputes (1995) and Inventing Waterfalls (1997) from Salzburg University Press, Reflections (1998) from Mirage Press with photographer Marina Wilson, and The Nothing We Sink or Swim In (2002) from Oversteps. After over twenty-five years working and travelling in France, China, Tibet, Madagascar, and several African countries, in 2003 he emigrated to New Zealand where he now teaches at Auckland University. With his wife Jill he has published two travel books: Watching the Dragon, Letters from China 1983-85 (1986) and A Winter in Tibet (1988) both from Impact Books, and he is now working on a new collection of poems and prose poem . His published teaching books include Writing Games and Reading Games, both from Longman, and the Oxford Basics series including Introduction to Teaching English (2008).

Sample poem: Looking Back Down

Oversteps publications

The Nothing We Sink or Swim In (2002)

Recent news

  • Charles Hadfield has a poem in the latest issue of Poetry NZ.

    [4-Nov-11 ]